JUST IN: Fomena MP saves NPP to be Majority in Parliament


The MP-elect for Fomena Constituency,  Mr. Andrew Amoako Asiamah, has saved the New Patriotic Party (NPP) from becoming the minority in Parliament.

Both the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have secured 137 parliamentary seats each in Parliament bringing the total number of declared parliamentary seats to 274.


The Savelugu Parliamentary seat is still in contention as both the NPP and NDC have threatened to contest the results of the elections in court.

Sources indicate that but for the Fomena MP, Andrew Amoako Asiamah, the NPP’s dream of securing a majority in Parliament would have been lost.

Mr. Andrew Amoako Asiamah is returning to Parliament as an Independent Member of Parliament (MP) after his seat was declared vacant by the Speaker of Parliament, Prof Aaron Mike Oquaye.

Mr. Asiamah, who was the former occupant of the Fomena parliamentary seat, lost his bid to contest the Fomena seat after his decision to contest the seat as an independent candidate.

His decision follows his defeat in the NPP primaries.

The Electoral Commission is yet to declare the official results of the Presidential elections, but the two main political parties, New Patriotic Party (NPP) and National Democratic Congress (NDC), are both claiming to have won the elections.