JUST IN: EC gives NPP majority in parliamentary results


The Electoral Commission, Ghana (EC) has tabulated the regional results of the 2020 parliamentary election.

The tabulation released on Thursday, December 10 has one outstanding constituency – Sene West – in the Bono East Region.

In total, the New Patriotic Party (NPP), whose candidate was declared the winner of the presidential polls by the commission on Wednesday, has 137 seats while the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has 136 seats.

There is one seat in the Ashanti Region – Fomena – for an independent candidate.

But a party needs at least 138 seats in order to form a majority in Ghana’s 275-member legislature.

This comes in the wake of the rejection of both presidential and parliamentary results by the opposition NDC.

The party says the EC only fabricated “flawed and discredited” results to be declared on Wednesday.

The party’s General Secretary, Johnson Asiedu Nketia, on Thursday declared its candidate John Dramani Mahama as the President-elect. He also said they have a clear majority in the parliamentary results.