NPP to challenge 7 parliamentary seats in court


The New Patriotic Party (NPP) says it has assembled a team of lawyers to challenge the results of seven parliamentary constituencies in the just ended 2020 general elections.

The seats are Assin North, Cape Coast North, Pusiga, Bawku Central, Savelugu, Asuogyaman and Nkwanta North.

Go to court

Speaking at a press conference in Accra at the party’s campaign office on Wednesday, December 23, 2020, the party’s Campaign Manager, Mr Peter Mac Manu said even though the party was dissatisfied with the parliamentary results of the named constituencies, it had not asked its supporters to take to the streets in protest, as the supporters of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) had been doing.

He said the NPP as a law abiding political party would use legitimate means such as the courts to challenge results that the party was not satisfied with.

Mr Mac Manu who was presenting evidence to back the party’s claim that it had won the contested Techiman South parliamentary seat, said because the NDC lost the seat, it had resorted to lies, deceits and propaganda just to throw dust in the eyes of people.