Minority MPs on Appointments Committee outrightly rejects Oppong Nkrumah, Osei-Akoto and Hawa Koomson


The Appointments Committee of Parliament has failed to approve the appointments of ministers-designate for Food and Agriculture, Information and Fisheries Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, and Hawa Koomson respectively.

The Committee which is made up of a total of 26 members – 13 each from the NDC and the NPP – the Committee begun the constitutionally mandated vetting process on February 10 and are expected to finish on March 9.

The NDC MPs led by Haruna Iddrisu, a Ranking Member on the Committee, has unanimously decided to reject 3 candidates brought forward by the President out of the 30 candidates so far vetted.

Reasons for the rejection

OPPONG NKRUMAH: Information Minister-designate

According to them, the Ofoase Ayeribi MP has an 82% share in a company called Oval Market Finance. This finance company is believed to be involved in some suspicious third-party lending.

Also, they say he has dealings with MX24 GH, a content creation, digital agency and media production house located in East Legon, which he said he didn’t have anything to do with during his vetting.

 Dr OWUSU AFRIYIE AKOTO : Minister-designate for Fisheries and Aquaculture

He is accused of unilaterally cancelling a horticulture contract with the Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority on January 11, 2021 without authority.

This cancellation according to the Minority Group is unauthorised as he was only a caretaker Minister.

Further, the cancellation, they say, will lead to a $50 million judgment debt for the country.

HAWA KOOMSON : Fisheries and Aquaculture Minister-designate

She was turned down mainly for the gun-shooting incident that occurred during the registration of voters in her constituency.

During her vetting, the 55-year-old admitted to firing warning shots in self-defence and apologized to the Committee and Ghanaians in general for her conduct.